Monday, June 28, 2010


Veer in Sanskrit refers to a hero or warrior or brave person. In this posture the body assumes the position a warrior taking an attack position hence the name Veer Asana or Warrior Pose. The way a brave man takes position while attacking his enemy, a similar position is formed in this Asana hence it is called as Veer Asana. It is also sometimes known as the philosopher's pose or the thinker's pose.


Stand upright in Tada Asana with legs joined together and arms by the sides.

Stretch your left leg and place it in front while exhaling.

Bend the left leg at the knee so as to form a right angle between the thigh and calf. The front leg should be bent in 90 degrees angle and the back leg should be straight. Keep the toes frontward. The back leg, the back, the neck and both the hands form a very good arch in this position and this forming of arch is desirable, too. The body should be weighed backward and keeping the arms near the ears, the neck should also be bent downwards.

Join the palms of your hands and place it on the knee. Keep the right leg straight. Inhale and raise both hands above your head. Stretch your arms further up.

Bend the upper part of your body backwards. The inner side of upper arms should be touching the ears.

Balancing your body, bend your neck and head downwards. Increase the curvature of the back to the maximum limit.

The right leg should not bend and the sole of both feet should be on the ground.

Stay in this posture till you feel the strain. It should be maintained for at least one minute, to have the desired strain and benefits; with practice, duration can be increased to three minutes.

Exhale slowly and straighten your trunk. Start bringing the body forward and place the hands on the knee. Keep sight to the front.
Inhale and bring the hands down on the knees. Straighten the knee and restore the hands to their original place.

Return your left foot to the original position aligned with the right foot, as you exhale. Restore the left leg to its place and take up standing position.

Relax and perform the same with your right leg stretched forward.

If you suffer from shoulder or neck problems, do not perform this yoga pose.

The process of the backward bending should be slow and controlled one otherwise it becomes difficult to maintain the balance. The loss of balance may prove injurious to certain parts of the body. Slow and controlled movements help in having halt at the needed point and avoiding the unwanted strain.


This asana balances the mind, increases the power of concentration, allows more awareness of the unconscious realms, and induces physical and mental relaxation quickly. The thinking process becomes very clear and precise. It is useful for those who think too much or who have disturbed or uncontrollable thoughts.
It is very good for the kidneys, liver, reproductive, and abdominal organs.
The practice of this Asana increases appetite and augments digestion.

Those who perform this asana develop the spirit of adventure, enthusiasm and bravery in them.

In this asana the joints of the legs, the waist, the spinal column and the neck get curved in opposite direction. As a result of this, the blood circulation to these joints is regulated.

The spinal column becomes elastic and its functioning improves.

There is pressure on the digestive organs and the belly gets stretched, which promotes their functioning.

All the diseases which Padma Asana cures can be cured also by practicing this Asana and all the benefits of Padma Asana can be obtained from this Asana also.

This Asana helps in breath-control hence this asana is very useful for singers, orators and public speakers.

This Asana is suitable for Pranayama.

During this Asana shoulders, arms and legs gain strength.

Thighs and calves get extended and toned.

Spinal column becomes more flexible with the practice of this Asana.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Aadi (1) Abhaya (1) Adhav (1) Adho (5) Ajna (2) Akarshana (3) Akash (1) Anahata (3) Anamika (1) Angushtha (2) Anuloma (2) Apaan (5) Ardha (11) Ardhakurma (1) Arthritis (1) Asana (92) Ashtanga (1) Ashwini (1) Asthma (5) Baaka (1) Baddha (3) Bakthi (2) Bandha (2) Bhadra (1) Bharadvaj (1) Bhastrika (3) Bhedana (1) Bhoo (1) Bhoomi (1) Bhramari (1) Bhujang (3) Bhujanga (1) Bitil (1) Boodam (1) Brahma (1) Bronchitis (1) Cervical (1) Chakra (20) Chakshu (1) Chaturanga (1) Chatush (2) Chetna (1) Chin (2) Constipation (5) Cramps (1) Daksha (1) Danda (2) Danta (1) Depression (1) Dhanur (4) Dhauti (6) Dhyana (2) Diabetes (10) Dirgha (2) Dola (1) Dwipada (1) Dyspepsia (1) Eka (1) Ekpada (2) Enteroptosis (1) Flatulence (1) Galava (1) Garud (1) Gomukh (1) Guggulu (1) Gyan (1) Hala (1) Hast (2) Hasta (1) Hatha (2) Horse (1) Hyperactivity (1) Hypertension (2) Ida (4) Indigestion (3) Insomnia (1) Jala (2) Jalandhara (1) Janana (3) Janushir (2) Jihva (1) Kaag (1) Kalajamoon (1) Kapal (1) Kapalabhati (3) Karma (2) Karna (1) Kati (1) Kevali (3) Kon (3) Kriya (1) Kumbhaka (4) Kundalini (5) Kurma (1) Lethargy (1) Linga (1) Lola (1) Lumbago (2) Maha (2) Mandook (1) Manipur (7) Marichi (1) Marjari (1) Mastak (1) Matsya (2) Matsyandra (3) Maya (2) Mayur (1) Menstruation (1) Moola (2) Moolabandha (1) mooladhara (5) Mritasanjeevani (1) Mudra (26) Mukh (1) Mukha (3) Mukta (1) Murccha (2) Nadhi (5) Naman (2) Namaskar (2) Natraj (1) Nauka (2) Neti (2) Niyama (1) Obesity (2) Pad (9) Pada (1) Padangustha (1) Padma (13) Panch (2) Paralysis (1) Parana (1) Parasaran (1) Parivertta (1) Parivritta (1) Parkinson (1) Parshvakona (1) Parsvakon (1) Parsvotton (1) Parvat (1) Paschimottan (4) Pawan (1) Piles (1) Pingala (4) Pitta (1) Poorna (1) Prakshalana (3) Prana (4) Pranayama (15) Prasarita (2) Prithvi (1) Puraka (2) Raja (1) Randhra (1) Rechaka (2) Sa-ashtang (1) Saalambit (1) Salamba (1) Samaan (5) Samyukta (1) Sanp (1) Santulana (2) Sarvanga (3) Sciatica (3) Shalabh (2) Shankha (3) Shashank (2) Shastra (1) Shat (1) Shav (5) Shilajit (1) Shira (1) Shitali (2) Shodhana (2) Shunya (1) Shwaan (2) Siddh (3) Sirs (1) Sonuf (1) Spasm (1) Spondilytis (1) Sukh (12) Supta (4) Surya (5) Sushmana (1) Sushumna (1) Sutra (1) Svan (2) Svastika (2) swadhisthana (2) Tada (5) Tantric (1) Tattvas (1) Tiryaka (2) Tolangula (1) Trikona (1) Udaan (3) Udara (1) Ujjayi (1) Upavista (1) Urdhva (2) Urdhwa (1) Ushtra (1) Utkata (2) Uttanpada (1) Utthita (3) Vaayu (15) Vajra (6) Vakra (2) Varicose (1) Varuna (1) Vata (1) Veer (3) Vidya (1) Viloma (1) Viparitakarni (1) Vishuddha (1) Vistrita (3) Vriksha (1) Vyan (4) Yoga (6) Zen (1)